Blends are Friends TOO! Blend Retreat Day TWO!

BREAKFAST WITH FRIENDS!

That was my experience on day two of Blend Retreat 2014….but first let me back up to remind you what exactly blend retreat is….

The BLEND Retreat (named so because we wanted to combine “blogger” with “friend”) is a relaxed, laid-back weekend retreat for healthy living, food and fitness bloggers from across the United States and Canada. Instead of focusing on seminars and formal speakers, our focus is on friendship and having a weekend away to get to know and connect with one another in real life.

Did. We. Ever.

Friday morning was a wonderful breakfast time with my roomies for the night, Kate, Megan, Amanda, and Sam. After a brief coffee intervention (thanks to the fancy coffee machine I actually got to work in our room) we all did what bloggers do best, shared pieces of our lives with each other. It was nothing but fabulous and probably one of the BEST ways to wake up…(well maybe the bootcamps were comparable?!?!)

After breakfast in the room we continued downstairs…coffee drink numero dos and continued chatting in the lobby together.

Shortly after breakfast it was time to check into a different room for me, so long suite living and onto my small but FUN room with Tori, Nicole, and Erika! I can’t believe how much fun we all had together all retreat long! Or maybe I can due to the fact that we are all bloggers (and by that I mean AMAZING Women who love love love to have a healthy and happy good time.). =)

Roomies! From left to right is Tori, Nicole, Me, and Erika.

Roomies! From left to right is Tori, Nicole, Me, and Erika.

Check – in for the retreat was quick simple and easy. I was back in the room chatting with my oh so wonderful fiance about the marvelous items I was collecting (we had recieved our first ‘room drop’ where a sponsor of the retreat leaves items in our room for us to try out. The first drop was from Organic ValleyHail Merry, and Detour. ) when to my delight Erika and Nicole arrived! I’ve emailed with Nicole back and forth and was so excited when I found out we were to be roomies! I had never met nor read Erika’s blog but knew it wouldn’t be hard to be friends with another peanut butter lover.

Room Drop Goodies From  Organic Valley, Hail Merry, and Detour.

Room Drop Goodies From Organic Valley, Hail Merry, and Detour.

So naturally we headed out to order food and take copious amounts of photos documenting the experience…it’s a bloggers life right? Cafe Rio was our stop and it was DELICIOUS! I got the chicken salad, the dressing was spicy and so was the salsa, as well as the colors made my mind so happy to be eating something so pretty. ha.

YUM Cafe Rio Delciousness....come back to me!

YUM Cafe Rio Delciousness….come back to me!

Lunch was followed by a FUN run, which did not disappoint! But first we exchanged a quick hello with Tori, who would be our last roomie for the weekend. She’s adorable and we  shared many stories of good ole’ Kansas where we both have roots!

Nothing like mexican to carry you through a much higher altitude than here in good ol Nebraska….I was toast. Way to go elevation you got me….luckily enough though we had super uplifting Janae leading our group!

Cooling us off after the group run was Artic Zero letting us sample some of their delicious ice cream, smoothies, and cookie sandwiches. YUM! While I didn’t get to try all the flavors I definitely am still reminiscing about the vanilla maple.

At this point my roommates and I couldnt’ get back to our room fast enough, our swag bags were calling our names…oh wait you say you don’t know what a swag bag is…Welcome.

SWWWWWWWWWWAG..aka so many amazing products!

SWWWWWWWWWWAG..aka so many amazing products!

Don’t worry I will let ya’ll know just exactly how everything tastes…it’s going to take us a while to get through all this but don’t worry I’m committed.

We treated ourselves to some of the swag…duh who wouldn’t? Then my roomies and I headed to the cocktail hour. Now it’s no secret I don’t drink often rarely ever. So I ordered a specialty cocktail made with FLUROwater. It was actually quite tasty; in the future I may rethink having a drink if they’re involved. 

IMG_1490

Cocktail hour provided by FLUROwater.

Cocktail hour provided by FLUROwater.

Nicole, Erika, and I enjoying our tasty drinks...don't worry Erika got a virgin one.

Nicole, Erika, and I enjoying our tasty drinks…don’t worry Erika got a virgin one.

Sizzlefish sponsored cocktail party snacks and I was quite delighted, salmon, black bean cakes, and hummus galore. So good.

After cocktails and chatting we moved into the banquet hall for dinner which was a pizza party, no really it was. It was a delight to see so many pizza options and to enjoy conversation for awhile longer before I HAD to call it a night and head up to bed…..this girl was tired! (sorry no pizza pic…guess I was more tired than I thought!)

HAPPY HAPPY WEDNESDAY everyone! Enjoy the b-e-a-utiful people in your life time flies so fast!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blends are Friends TOO! Blend Retreat Day TWO!

  1. YOURE SO GOOD AT THIS BLOGGING THING 😉 I miss you already! So, so happy to have had you as a roommate. You. Are. So. Amazing. ❤

  2. Julie says:

    We got so spoiled by all that SWAG!

    I agree with Erika, you’re a natural with blogging!

  3. cottercrunch says:

    i never got to cafe rio!! maybe we should go back, yes?! hehe

  4. Tori says:

    KANSAS! 🙂 Agreed with all the other comments, you’re a blogger natural! I can’t wait to hear all about wedding planning 🙂

Leave a Reply

