It’s Thursday, but first Saturday! Blend Retreat 2014

It’s a great big THURSDAY world!

But let’s talk about last week Saturday….because that’s what you do on Thursday’s when BLEND Retreat is involved…

Saturday morning started with a great big BANG from ONNIT fitness.. and did they ever bring it, we started with yoga and then continued on with a bootcamp. Ending with a plank challenge, I don’t do planks quite that often but when there is a $100 gift card available I’m all over that…unfortunately I couldn’t hold out the whole six minutes and fell around 4:10 ish. Yet I still felt a whole lot like I Was On Top Of the World at the end!

Roomie Love.

Roomie Love.

I do want to pause here and take a brief moment and discuss the fabulous and oh so tasty Cotter Balls I FINALLY GOT TO TRY! This is a huge deal in part due to the fact I’ve been reading up on Lindsay’s website and I saw she was going to bring some, they just so happened their lovely little way into my post -workout snack, if you haven’t had one yet you’re missing out.

Healthy Bites from Lindsay!

Healthy Bites from Lindsay!

The hour flew by and soon and very soon it was time for my almost favorite meal of the weekend…Quest Nutrition sponsored our delicious breakfast and they definitely did a wonderful job. They made delightful little breakfast goodie cups (no not the real name I’m sure) My tummy was quite full and very happy…

Cooooooookie Cups...the real breakfast.

Cooooooookie Cups…the real breakfast.

 

Quest Breakfast baby!

Quest Breakfast baby!

After breakfast we shot up to the room…but not before grabbing some fuel for our hike in the afternoon….hiking’s hard especially when elevated way beyond Nebraska land elevation. Cue the heavy breathing.

Cocogo - fuel in water Rxbar - fuel in edible form Both - YUM

Cocogo – fuel in water
Rxbar – fuel in edible form
Both – YUM

Thanks Brittany for the fuel we immediately put it in our water bottles to keep us geared up for the hike! Speaking of which that happened to be who was involved in our room drop (I see the perfect timing here you’re good CamelbakOrganic Valley, & Fairlife!) I’ve always wanted a Camelbak water bottle, dreams really do come true!

HIKE MATERIALS : sponsored by: Camelbak, Organic Valley, & Fairlife

HIKE MATERIALS : sponsored by: Camelbak, Organic Valley, & Fairlife

With our paks all loaded up we HAD to hit up the Silk smoothie bar open pretty much 24-7 during our time at Blend, beyond wonderful. They blended together anything you desired from a variety of Silk milks, fruit, and a variety of cool fun add in’s chia seeds anyone?

Always a half full glass with Silk!

Always a half full glass with Silk!

I’ve only ever heard of gondolas in a venice tone, you know the man rowing you and a (let’s hope) adorable man down a river through the twinkling lights of Venice…this wasn’t the case, it appeared more as a little box we smushed some of us Blends in and rode all the way to the tip top of a mountain. HELLOOOOOO Beautiful hike! Of course I couldn’t resist taking so many photos and also couldn’t resist the hike down even if it wasn’t quite as easy as Joel Harper, um yes the celebrity trainer Joel Harper, declared! Nicole and I still made it all. the. way. down.

Going up Gondola Style

Going up Gondola Style

Blends (left to right) Laura, Me, Erika, Nicole and Nicole (also) in front!

Blends (left to right)
Laura, Me, Erika, Nicole and Nicole (also) in front!

Let's go!

Let’s go!

What Joel Harper??

What Joel Harper??

After making it back down…unsunburnt I might add…we headed to possibly one of my favorite snack breaks. I feel like I’ve said that before…..well regardless it was an amazing one! Kidz Shake is a amazing product and Dr. Rach was in the house to share it with us, read Dr. Rach’s story here for more information. It is so inspiring that she wants her children to eat REAL FOOD….in America the natural and whole food products are becoming smaller and smaller while the processed, prepackaged, shiny food takes over. -Read her story you won’t regret it, if you want you could read it in an Australian accent, she definitely has a beautiful one. 😉

Post-Hike before our snack break with my roommate Erika!

Post-Hike before our snack break with my roommate Erika!

The Kidz Shake Balls! So delicious can't wait to make them myself!

The Kidz Shake Balls! So delicious can’t wait to make them myself!

Kate, Erike, Nicole, and I enjoying the snack break.

Kate, Erike, Nicole, and I enjoying the snack break.

On my way to the bathroom during the snack break I stopped at the doTERRA Essential Oils booth, the women their were wonderful and treated me to some smells as well as chatted with me on different issues I have, muscle soreness and tenderness. As well as issues my fiance has, deviated septum…bummer. I left with some Deep Blue to rub in to those oh so sore muscles!

Deep Blue Rub, so great for sore muscle areas!

Deep Blue Rub, so great for sore muscle areas!

 

Whew, what a day already right?

Relax

No time for much of that resting business, we got downtown to see….

We decided, seeing as there was nothing planned for the evening we would venture out on the town, a few of us headed out to downtown Park City in a Taxi with a great driver who dropped us off at the very top of the main drag. After Browsing downtown a little while…

Banksy! One of my favorite artist's Original in Park City Utah! WOW!

Banksy! One of my favorite artist’s Original in Park City Utah! WOW!

Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory. Apples on Apples on Apples!

Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory. Apples on Apples on Apples!

 

The Downtown Main Drag

The Downtown Main Drag

We headed into Park City’s own Distillery: High West. I had a diet coke with cherry grenadine in it, the waitress informed me their grenadine had alcohol in it, it seems to me the alcoholic park city grenadine is a far cry from the delicious diet coke with cherry grenadine I find in Nebraska at our local restaurant; The Chicken Coop (yep that’s the real name didn’t even have to make it up!), maybe it has something to do with the fact our cherry grenadine is loaded with sugar. Nahhhh gotta be that it’s just better. =)

Erika and I Enjoying the Brewery!

Erika and I Enjoying the Brewery!

Can you say "I want these at my wedding?" Because that's what I'm sayin'! Too bad we can't hang anything up ;(

Can you say “I want these at my wedding?” Because that’s what I’m sayin’! Too bad we can’t hang anything up ;(

Nicole, Katie, and I's side of our table at the Brewery.

Nicole, Katie, and I’s side of our table at the Brewery.

Got to chat and eat with these pretty women!

Oh wait there's everyone.

Oh wait there’s everyone.

Dinner: Buffalo Burger, with side salad. Ha good thing I was craving some meat!

Dinner: Buffalo Burger, with side salad. Ha good thing I was craving some meat!

 

We left the distillery and headed to a restaurant in downtown as well to grab a bite to eat. The dinner group was great and we all had so much fun talking, and laughing while enjoying our oh so flirtatious? (at least for Nicole) waiter. The place was awesome Wasatch Brew Pub & Brewery  in Park City Utah I highly recommend! All the girls included at dinner have some equally interesting and cool blogs be sure to check them out:

Kate : Mollie Nicole : Erika : AriKatie :

Pretty great dinner and I. was. so. full. Ain’t no Utah Scone fittin’ in this belly. I did go to the scone party hosted in a suite where homemade scones with jelly and peanut butter were being created and chatting among bloggers was being had. It was a lot of fun, and I got to chat with Candace from:  Hungry Mother Runner. She is so great and fun, and well she was a hygienist herself and loves Bodypump…duh we must be friends! After awhile though food coma was kicking in and Nicole, Erika and I headed back to the room to see what we could do with alllllllllll dat swag. You know I had to get it all home with me…success was fitting everything in and getting organized for the next morning and making the transition into the airport. The real success however may have been falling fast asleep knowing I was having the time of my life.

Hope I didn’t poop ya’ll out with that ridiculously long post, you gotta have energy for tomorrow ITS FRIYAY! =)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s Thursday, but first Saturday! Blend Retreat 2014

  1. I completely forgot about the deep blue rub!!! I’m off to find my sample because I’m SORE.

    I totally read this post in an Aussie accent, btw. 😉

  2. Great recap Jayne! That burger was so tasty….great company too!!!

  3. Tori says:

    Oh my gosh, those apples look to die for… Thank goodness I didn’t go in, I would have lost all self control!

  4. Love that pic from after that “easy” hike. Remind me never to listen to Joel Harper again haha!

  5. I think Saturday was probably my favourite day of the retreat. I mean, a gorgeous hike followed by a night out with the girls? Oh.heck.YES 😀

  6. Julie says:

    Jayne, your outfits were so cute! I missed that Banksy art – where was it downtown?

  7. You held that plank for four plus minutes. Girl you are a beast. I LOVE IT.

    Have a great weekend.

  8. cottercrunch says:

    look at all those balls! LOL! jk. So glad you got to come and we got to meet! I’m ready to go back for more good food and fitness

  9. I’m glad I got to meet you briefly although we didn’t talk much! Small world that you live in Omaha where I’m from!

    The hike was my absolute favorite part!!

Leave a Reply

