Tuesday’s Thoughts….BLEND SWAG!

What do you do when you have a lot of Blend Swag and a whole Saturday morning free…you organize it duh, because I NEED at least ten photographs of the awesome delight that is all my free goodies from Blend Retreat Sponsors! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! What’s better than organizing for this girl…organizing and multi-tasking…oh how it soothes my soul.

Storm this weekend brought a beautiful picture for a Friday night...yep that's the day BEFORE Saturday...but oh well.

Storm this weekend brought a beautiful picture for a Friday night…yep that’s the day BEFORE Saturday…but oh well.

I quite enjoy being in my kitchen, creating (I like to call it that rather than cooking, cooking makes it sound like I HAVE to do it to survive, creating sounds artistic like something I would want to be in on) delicious masterpieces, and I also quite enjoy my Blend Retreat Swag, that had remained in my bag until Saturday, why because I work work worked a 40 hour week. Did I mention I really love Saturdays? Yep.

 

Blend Swag

Blend Swag

While laying out and photographing the vast array of beautiful products; reading and memorizing recipes and trying to figure out where I would fit it all, creativity hit me like a ton of homemade cookbooks…(cue irony laughter). I wanted to bake something.

There has been a beer bread recipe that I have wanted to try out for a long time, and after discussing natural products with a lot of the women I met last weekend I felt inspired to use more natural whole products in my cooking. I wanted to make something with butter….yep real butter. Normally I have steered FAR FAR AWAY from any type of butter trying any and all things just so i could eat five pieces of whatever I was making and not have to think about fat, (little did I know I could should have been thinking about all the artifically produced stuff that was going into my body instead of simple butter.)

Cue opening the fridge grabbing a single beer, 12 ounces to be exact, butter (okay I used ‘light’ betty crocker butter), light brown sugar, and whole wheat flour.

Beer Bread

"Look at that floor dough."

“Look at that floor dough.”

You mix, you photograph, you smile at cooking with REAL (and very few I might add) ingredients, and you pop that baby in the oven for about 55 minutes…

Now now I understand that this bread is not COMPLETELY healthy, but it definitely beats the middle aisle preservative laden alternatives at stores around these parts. I’ll take fewer ingredients of items I can actually pronounce any day over the other options.

Time went by ever so quickly as I organized, and reorganized my three shelves designated for SWAG SWAG SWAG….

Swag Organized.

Swag Organized.

The timer blasted the end of my 55 minute delight and out popped a perfect crisp on the outside, soft on the inside, batch of beautiful home made whole wheat BEER BREAD. Delicious, and I didn’t have to mess with too many ingredients, nor did I mess with that yeast business. If I can’t deal with a yeast infection I don’t think my bread should either. Thanks BEER ;).

YAYYYY healthy delicious and nutritious!

YAYYYY healthy delicious and nutritious!

Slice a piece and eat with fresh deli smoked turkey for sheer pleasure and rejoice SWAG IS ORGANIZED….talk about success on a Saturday….Beer Bread done.

Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe:

3 Cups Whole Wheat Flour

12 ounces Any Beer of Choice

1 Tblspn flaxseed

1/4 cup Brown Sugar

1/4 cup Butter (Room Temp)

1 TBSPN Baking Powder

1 Tsp Salt

Directions on just HOW you do it:

Pour in the dry ingredients together and mix well, I would suggest not packing the flour so as you get three ‘airy’ flour cups this will make your bread moist. Add beer of your choice, I chose the light one pictured above and butter at same time, then mix and blend again. Spray bread pan with canola oil spray, dust with flour, or rub it with CRISCO (um just kidding don’t use that crisco…) and distribute dough evenly throughout pan. Bake that hot mess at about 60 minutes, or 55 if you desire to have it a little more moist than usual….at 375 degrees.

You can and possibly in the future I will make this bread with fewer fat, calories, and sugar, by altering slightly the recipe. Leaving out butter and sugar will give a different consistency but still give you a good hearty bread. I think next time I might try some applesauce in place of butter always a good alternative that still helps moisten the bread.

Easy peasy…

Nutritional information is below….

Nutritional Facts

Serving Size: 1/12 of loaf

Calories: 138

Total Fat: 2 grams

Total Carbohydrates: 26 grams

Sugars : 4 grams

Sodium: 34 grams

Protein: 3.5 Grams

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday’s Thoughts….BLEND SWAG!

  1. This made me smile so hard. Can you come over and organize my schwag now too? Feel free to bring bread. And extra beers. 😉

  2. torikom20 says:

    YUM, I need to make this bread asap! And I second Laura, please come help me organize my swag too? 🙂

  3. I’d like some beer with my bread too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

