My FIRST Pie!

How many wonderful things can one do in a day?

I had to stop and ask myself this question today as we browsed our local shelves of Sam’s Club and tried ALL the samples, well mostly all; (the bread which a lady was slathering butter and garlic on I did not try) but I digress…

Yes today I have done  a plethora of wonderful things, let’s start with waking up next to my wonderful husband, this guy.

What a Babe.

What a Babe.

Yeah that’s my husband enjoying our usual coffee stop at Caribou in our local HyVee store, we have too much fun and were told by the barista that we were the first to utilize this fancy window sticker.

Moving right along to work out class today was RIPPED, and it is so much fun! What is it you ask? Ripped is an interval class in which you work with weights and cardio, overall a good workout that can be modified or ramped up no matter your workout level. You can check out and click on the link to read more about the classes.

I got home to my hubby having made our bed, in which he does quite often and smiling that I was home =).

Quickly I showered up and got some of the good ole’ protein pancakes with a side of apples and pb on the table for our breakfast, whilst he mastered the coffee drinks.

The ever popular Protein Pancakes!

The ever popular Protein Pancakes!

Mmmm Mmmm good, but you know what makes them GREAT? Our bar in which we now have to eat them at, delicious.

For some reason the mood was right:

transition into a baking frenzy in which this quickly ensued…

He loves me He really loves me =)

He loves me He really loves me =)

This was the photo my husband caught and posted of my spread, I had two kinds of cookies, pie crusts, and pie filling going all at once. That’s the life of this wife folks and I LOVE IT!

I have been in hot pursuit of a pie crust and I desire strongly to perfect a good healthy pie crust considering when looking up recipes I soon found out shortening is a hott item for pie crust mixes, yuck.

I found an awesome recipe and edited it to my liking, which left me with a perfectly crisp coconut flour pie crust, I DID IT!

I also baked in another pie plate, a mix of almond flour, whole wheat flour, craisins, mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, and coconut oil; this made a crisp topper to my pie…

Look at Dat Crust...

Look at Dat Crust…

Throw in about 36 chocolate chunk cookies and 16 oatmeal chocolate chip banana cookies made somewhere between these two crusts and you got part of the morning…but wait I’m not done yet….

I then whipped up a greek yogurt filling….you guys this is where it got pretty awesome…

MMMMMMMMMMM

MMMMMMMMMMM

I heated up about 1/4 cup peanut butter and two quest peanut butter cups until good and gooey, mixed that with two single serving greek yogurt cups plain until it was completely whipped together, then placed it in the bottom of the coconut crust. Layered on top of that, I placed another single serving greek yogurt cup, plain. Drumroll please for the finishing touch of placing the well cooled second crust on top, in which was a little tricky due to not spraying the pan very thoroughly. My husband helped though and we came up with this beauty!

PIE!

PIE!

After this baking frenzy and after I threw some sweet potatoes to cook in the crockpot we headed out for our usual errand run, grocery day!!!! I absolutely love grocery shopping, while I am quite aware as so many like to remind me that someday when I have kids this feeling of enjoyment may change, I feel I have every right to thoroughly enjoy a day out like this with my husband currently. (off my soapbox now 😉 )

Per usual we made a list, and per usual my husband worked on my phone (I’m not as great with technology as he is, nor would I EVER have as many sweet things on my phone without him updating and helping me out all.the.time.) so we got a shared grocery list, this is sweet and I highly recommend if you and your spouse have iPhones to do this immediately.List Made.Next stop SAMS CLUB!

This place rocks on the weekend and let me show you why…

Baby Russet Potatoes with a Garlic Seasoning for sample, I only had a half, too garlicky for this girl.

Baby Russet Potatoes with a Garlic Seasoning for sample, I only had a half, too garlicky for this girl.

Cream Cheese Rolls, not my favorite either, can you say; WHERES THE MEAT???

Cream Cheese Rolls, not my favorite either, can you say; WHERES THE MEAT???

Smoked Ham and Cheese was very tasty probably due to the copious amount of fat my ham had on it...

Smoked Ham and Cheese was very tasty probably due to the copious amount of fat my ham had on it…

This was being served with the ham, labels itself really.

This was being served with the ham, labels itself really.

WOW Stunner for last, these were delicious I must say a definite good find for sure!

WOW Stunner for last, these were delicious I must say a definite good find for sure!

SAMPLE DAY AT SAMS CLUB. While everything is not my favorite it sure is fun to try bite sized morsels of things I wouldn’t normally have at home to cook.

This is why we spend Saturday’s shopping, we don’t have to buy to much seeing as it is just the two of us so sample day is just like a big bonus, and lunch for this girl. 😉

So that brings us to here, sort of. We ended on a good protein quinoa bar high and headed home after running a few errands (returning wedding gifts) ANDDDDDD purchasing a KEURIG! This one to be exact…

Keurig 2.0 K300 Deluxe System.

Keurig 2.0 K300 Deluxe System.

You can click the photo for more information or to order one yourself, delight in the gift of energy….too cheesy?

Anyways we are currently finishing our evening watching harry potter and playing with our coffee machine, my husband is reading the book….my heart is melting.

So enjoy your coffee, home made or not….

Enjoy your favorite drink today!

Enjoy your favorite drink today!

Oh and let’s not forget; enjoy your husband too. =)

Now I leave you with this question….

What should I call this PIE!!!?????? Please comment with suggestions!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My FIRST Pie!

  1. teatimechic says:

    Sounds like a fabulous day..How about calling it “happy pie” :)?

  2. That pie looks fabulous! I remember baking my first pie like it was yesterday… I was so excited it actually turned out!

Leave a Reply

