WIAW: What do newlyweds eat daily?

WIAW: disclaimer, busyness is 2015 for me so far, but i’m trying to dedicate more time for things I love and enjoy thus WIAW enters….so by gosh I’m going to try my hardest to stick around every week ya’ll!

Check out Jenn’s site to see what everyone else is up to as well!

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

There is simply no other way to put it, but I am falling more in love with my husband every single day. I can’t help but to shamelessly exclaim that my husband and I are loving this time in our lives and I am absolutely enjoying every moment, laugh, smile, and word we get to exchange!

So when I think about WIAW and my posts upcoming I want to reflect the joy, exuberance, and encouragement to other newlyweds or people in general out there. I’ve been thinking in which direction to take this blog and as I think ahead to my journey this year that I forsee coming up. I am overjoyed by the events we already have in the books and those unplanned ventures to come. I want to relay those events here to you all, to help you see what WE are learning throughout it all. Of course to laugh and feel joy with us along the way as well!

So without further ado, I bring to you a WIAW…

What does a NEWLYWED couple really eat…well hang tight you’re about to find out.

My friend celebrated her son’s third birthday and she celebrated well, with authentic Mexican food homemade tortillas and fajita meat as well as some rolled up dough with mashed potatoes in it, wow. Not to mention the homemade guacamole and salsa that I didn’t get photos of because the party was bouncing’ and my taste buds were partying’ just as hard. WHOOOO…

Home Made Fajitas by a good friend of mine for her sons birthday, these things were authentic and so so good, unfortunately the hubby couldn't enjoy right away because he wasn't feeling well but I snuck some back for him. ;)

Home Made Fajitas by a good friend of mine for her sons birthday, these things were authentic and so so good, unfortunately the hubby couldn’t enjoy right away because he wasn’t feeling well but I snuck some back for him. 😉

Next up we have our morning beauty of protein waffles, err day if we could of course we eat these treats. So good and they really don’t take me any time at all, whilst eating them we enjoy conversation and some days a little Bible reading.

YUM! Got to have the candle for ambiance.

YUM! Got to have the candle for ambiance.

Sometimes my waffles get to strong and bust open the waffle maker, protein pancakes I tell ya.

Sometimes my waffles get to strong and bust open the waffle maker, protein pancakes I tell ya they don’t mess around.

My husband has recently gotten into making chemex coffee and it is so good! We love our coffee over here and it is keeping up fueling us on a daily basis…I must admit that while making good coffee the chemex does appeal to the eye as well…very fancy.

It's a brewin' that joe.

It’s a brewin’ that joe.

The grounds as the water filters through them..

The grounds as the water filters through them..

So it is almost functioning as a pour over if anyone has ever heard of that except well fancier. =)

Date’s have also included trips to coffee bars and my traditional order of a sugar free skinny vanilla latte, there is a place in town that serves up a AWESOME one!

My latte is on the right my husband is holding his drink of choice called 'the cuban'

My latte is on the right my husband is holding his drink of choice called ‘the cuban’

A totally different trip to the same place for the same said drink because yes it is that good!

A totally different trip to the same place for the same said drink because yes it is that good!

I myself have been experimenting with deer meat as my parents have unloaded over 15 pounds of it on us, yahoo, I just really love how it picks up any flavor so I haven’t been to crazy with my experimentation of it just loving the simple taste of a few ingredients added…and it’s really good with spinach!

Spinach salad with venison, and an iced coffee for lunch.

Spinach salad with venison, and an iced coffee for lunch.

Theres more to our story though, as we lately have been having cooking date nights, idk  why the cold weather brings it out in us but I have to admit I really love it. Cooking with my husband as I have said in previous posts is just so much fun. Not to mention he’s very hott to watch in the kitchen. 😉

Enter the making of cauliflower pizza, this is where you all come in if anyone has a excellent and EASY cauliflower crust recipe please impart your wisdom upon us, we simply do this about once a year because the crust is just something that takes us a while to do.

Ingredients for the pizza are very important to me, I like fresh ingredients and so we went with all fresh items except for one!:

Fresh mozzarella cheese, fresh parmesan and skim shredded blend of cheeses, green peppers, onion blend (this was the only frozen item I used and I sautéed them before placing them on the pizzas), tomatoes, and mushrooms. Of course cauliflower but that is what we used to make the crust with…

My hubs was in charge of sautéing the mushrooms, very nice babe very nice...

My hubs was in charge of sautéing the mushrooms, very nice babe very nice…

A few frozen onion blend veggies sautéed as well along with fresh tomatoes.

A few frozen onion blend veggies sautéed as well along with fresh tomatoes.

And green onions fresh of course.

And green onions fresh of course.

Prep work of the ingredients was relatively easy compared to these bad boys…

Cauliflower crust prep is hard work!

Cauliflower crust prep is hard work!

That photo was taken only after I food precessed the cauliflower and laid it out on a paper towel smashing it between two dry sheets to bring out as much moisture as possible then mixing it with egg whites spices and more cheese (can’t get too much cheese for pizza right?)

They did turn out good...

They did turn out good…

Despite the struggle, it’s real folks, we managed two nice crusts of which to have a variety for our pizza selection, so that was fun…

Decorating the pizzas!

Decorating the pizzas!

Making them both a little different was a fun way to switch it up and try different flavors while still using all the ingredients…

Before the cheese was added!

Before the cheese was added!

Then of course we had to soup it up.

CHEESE ME!

CHEESE ME!

I then baked em’ up not for very long at all and ta da….

Got that golden glow...

Got that golden glow…

Cuttin' the cheese, no literally.

Cuttin’ the cheese, no literally.

YUM!

YUM!

So we definitely aren’t professionals but we can make some pretty good pizzas, we followed them up with home made ice cream from our Cuisinart ice cream maker vanilla with xylitol instead of sugar of course (better for your teeth!)

Xylitol Vanilla Ice Cream, home made....yes please.

Xylitol Vanilla Ice Cream, home made….yes please.

It was a tasty meal and so much fun to make together, being married to your best friend helps to make for some pretty great times making just about anything a fun adventure…even cauliflower pizza.

Enjoy the photos guys and let me know if YOU have ever made a cauliflower pizza crust and if you have suggestions for easier making for our future!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WIAW: What do newlyweds eat daily?

  1. No matter how hard I try I just cannot nail cauliflower crust pizza. I’ve probably tried 5 + times. Cooking dates- sounds so fun! Wish my hubby would participate in that lol

  2. I’ve been wanting to try a chemex brewing thing!

  3. A couple that makes cauliflower crust pizza together, stays together! 😉

    I’ve got an old recipe for it but it works pretty well- i don’t add cheese to the actual base but load the tops with it! I find it gets lost in it!

  4. Brittany says:

    Cooking and eating with the person you love is UNBEATABLE!! I love it. I also love the Chemex debut, such a fun device.

Leave a Reply

