There’s a Bounty out there Nebraska…

As I laughed and read through Megan’s post about her CSA and her love for it I couldn’t help but get so excited…we finally got our first BOUNTIFUL BASKET!

For those of you that are probably wondering what sort of food concoction I’ve cooked up now hold your ever so inpatient horses and check out the website!

Bountiful Baskets Food Co Op is a rare find in these here parts of Nebraska and I am SO HAPPY I did find it, it has been two weeks with our basket and we’re nearing the end, it supplied me with FRESH spinach salads for many lunch times of which I wish I took more photos, but let’s face it even awesome fresh spinach in tupperware doesn’t quite look to spectacular, but the taste was awesome! Before I get on too much of a tangent about all the goods…let’s see what BBFC is really all about!

BBFC is a group of people who work together for mutual benefit. This is a grassroots, all volunteer, no contracts, no catch co-operative.

So we had a lot to be excited about as you can see, we grabbed our bags from home to pick up our produce and collected our bounty…

IMG_5228

Thats my man, carrying the much heavier bag….of course.


This is something we have wanted to do for quite some time and for whatever reason have been apprehensive to do….due only to the fact that it seemed we were out and about way to often to actually USE all the produce I perceived we would be getting….so this week we took the leap, our first ever journey on the CSA train of sorts, theres about to be a Bounty and I’m the hunter…. =)

Let’s peek first at the baskets…

Bountiful Basket

So if you can take your eyes off our exceptionally amazing chaco shoes, yes we got them on purpose, and yes we wear them together quite often…Let’s list what we got…

Fruit:

  • Pineapple
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon
  • 7 Apricots
  • 2 Oranges
  • 3 Apples

Vegetables:

  • 2 Jicama
  • 3 Scallion Bunches
  • 3 Zucchini
  • 4 Cucumbers
  • 1 Head living lettuce
  • 5 Bunches Fresh Spinach

That’s the basket contents! So much fun! I immediately explored Jicama recipes..because that was the most interesting ingredient I saw right away, and I was super excited about all the possibilities, overwhelmed a little, but excited!

I ended up settling with this recipe I found on Pinterest:

IMG_5233

Let me tell you those were delicious and I only made one jicama that lasted us the rest of the week on salads and in my husbands lunch creations (bring on Jicama Fries this week!). I also made Cucumber chips using this same recipe and just putting it on the sliced up cucumber! Basic instructions were you toss the jicama or cucumber in the seasonings and bake at 400 degrees, I baked them about twenty five minutes and it was perfect timing!

What to do if theres only two (people that is):

IMG_5235

Zucchini and Cucumbers.

Zucchini – Zoodles please, we made a lot of them and they are great and easy to saute and eat if you’re in a hurry for dinner, my favorite, saute with a little olive oil, pour a little salsa over and eat with veggie straws or tortilla chips and some FF sour cream on the side (or use Plain greek yogurt) so good!

Living Lettuce and Spinach – Nothing too special we tore them up into salads, my hubby had the spinach leaves one night with a chicken stir fry, he just wrapped the stir fry up in the leaves, yum.

IMG_5236Scallions – chopped the first bunch into a crock pot with a jar of salsa and frozen chicken breast, added just a little pizazz. Second bunch I chopped up and put into breakfast burritos, third bunch chopped up and put in fridge to put on salads.

Fruit – All of it we basically cut up and consumed raw, the cantaloupe was AMAZING!

Overall I believe we will most definitely have many more bountiful baskets ahead of us because this was so fun and worked so well for us! Thanks Bountiful Baskets and thanks Nebraska Farmers!

If you’re in Nebraska and are in a place to get yours  I’d highly recommend doing so today!

Do you CSA/Bountiful Basket?

Have you ever gotten anything like this before?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to There’s a Bounty out there Nebraska…

  1. teresa Rudolph says:

    I remember those piggies from Africa. 🙂

  2. I love it, and I’m so glad you do too. It sure makes life in the kitchen interesting. Hooray veggies! Fruits too. 🙂

  3. Pingback: WIAW: Routines are Great! | Busy Barista

Leave a Reply

