The whole 30: So what do you eat?

So what do you eat? Thats the most asked question I have gotten on the Whole 30 and I gladly reply….”Quite a bit actually.”

I wanted to linkup for the WIAW posts, I haven’t done one in a while so here it goes… Thanks as always to the lovely Megan, Arman, Laura, and Jenn.

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

The Whole 30 to me has been abut a lot of experimentation…before trying out the Whole 30 I actually thought to myself these things about going on it…I could never…

  • Give up gum.
  • Go a day without protein balls.
  • Get enough protein without whey protein powder.
  • Eat bacon and like it.
  • Not have dessert
  • Have coffee plain with NOTHING in it except cinnamon.
  • Go without baking.
  • Enjoy starbucks without a sweetened drink.
  • Fill my husband up at a meal.
  • Eat out.
  • Give up popcorn at the movies.
  • Not have chips and salsa.
  • Have bananas on a consistent basis.

I could keep going on and on and that is what I realized, I had a fear of food, eating too much, eating not enough, making it, not making it, refusing it, delighting in it, all things that revolved around food and my life. I was stuck in a place where I was dependent on food to not just help me survive and thrive but really to give me joy…wait WHAT? Food gives you joy? Yes it has and I came aware of it through this process…I’m not free from the many thought processes I’ve become captive to, at least not yet;), but I’m a work in progress and through this journey I’m coming ever closer.

So I’m in halfway deep here and wanted to share the process with you all, so i photoed all my eats of this week Monday….Enjoy!

IMG_2155

BREAKFAST

Breakfast for me on most days has included eggs, here we have a 4 egg white omelet with cinnamon sprinkled on it and a slather of coconut oil, turkey bacon two slices, and strawberries pictured was 3 but its usually like 10. 😉

IMG_2152

Best Cinnamon ever, Watkins for the win! I love this stuff on my eggs and in my BLACK coffee every morning, and about the coffee I think I might continue that in the future as well, I feel so ‘refined’ having my coffee black.

IMG_2153

(note to self don’t tip camera sideways next time!) This is the bacon I’ve been using and it is absolutely wonderful, I feel like there is a lot more flavor involved than say the Jennie O turkey bacon I used to get…oh and my feet because well morning!

I didn’t workout Monday before work like usual so this breakfast honestly filled me up till lunch!

IMG_2156These are the things that will be waiting for you on the Whole 30 challenge, the struggle is real! Cherry home made coffee crumb cake made by my boss wife, looked and smelled delicious good thing sugar can’t get ya through the nose. 😉 I was so busy at work though it was easy to remember what delicious lunch I packed!

LUNCH

Lunch included my Go-To lately, Sunday calls for meal prepping for these lunches, I make a huge batch of sweet potato fries with garlic salt and extra virgin olive oil, a huge batch of yellow squash and zucchini cut in chunks and mixed with sea salt and coconut oil then broiled for 15 minutes!

So place your fries on bottom of this container, layer with portion of zucchini, then kale, then shredded chicken breast. Heat for 2 Minutes. All the oil and salts combine to make, delicious! I eat it usually with a LARGE handful of nuts I wasn’t to steady with the camera, note the small portion in the photo! =) Didn’t want to drop them!

Come time to workout I forgot my usual hard boiled egg that I eat on the way to the gym after work….instead I stopped at a gas station and bought Whole Raw Almonds, ate about 10 of those and hit my workout!

After getting home and also not photoed was some pork loin which I had a few bites of while prepping my dinner…

IMG_2161

DINNER

Dinner was a HUGE batch of Normandy style vegetables in a steerable bag 3 mins in microwave and TADAA! Portion of zucchini and 4 ounces of pork loin. We cooked a HUGE pork loin in the crock pot this weekend and bagged it up in the freezer for meals this week. We also got these….

IMG_2162

CHERRIES! I ate them along with my meal just enough sweet for me…there ya go a day filled with good eats and healthy fats, as most of the food was cooked in coconut or extra virgin olive oils!  Overall a lot of healthy fun food and combinations.

 

Guess what this day DIDN’T Include? Remember that list of never at the beginning of this post, yeah this one…

  • Give up gum.
  • Go a day without protein balls.
  • Get enough protein without whey protein powder.
  • Eat bacon and like it.
  • Not have dessert
  • Have coffee plain with NOTHING in it except cinnamon.
  • Go without baking.
  • Enjoy starbucks without a sweetened drink.
  • Fill my husband up at a meal.
  • Eat out.
  • Give up popcorn at the movies.
  • Not have chips and salsa.
  • Have bananas on a consistent basis.

So not all these may be things I am doing now and quite successfully but for the most part I’m seeing myself accomplish things I thought not to be possible!

Thanks for stopping buy my WIAW Whole 30 Version!

Love Love Love

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The whole 30: So what do you eat?

  1. I’m on my 4th round of the Whole30 Challenge. It gets easier every time. You got this! And you don’t have to give up gum. Just switch to a ‘clean’ brand like Xylachew.

    • jejansonius says:

      Wow really?!? I thought any sweeteners at all even the xylitol weren’t okay?!? Well guess I’m just hard core for right now. Haha. Only a week left I’ll touch it out!
      Congrats four times that’s incredible. I’ve been reading your updates!!!

  2. It sounds like you’re doing well!! Filling my husband up is always a challenge, too 😉

  3. Ellie says:

    I’ve heard that the Whole 30 helps people find balance and joy with food. I think your “habits” before the challenge are nothing to be ashamed of, but maybe if you were too reliant on them, getting off may be a good thing (for now, not forever).
    I am really wanting cherries right now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

