If you only Live once I want to Live with you…

So you all know how much this song has been played in my ears this past week, well for one three times during Bodypump Classes, but on my own time, about 209387498735091843750981370 times. Yup that’s alot. I’m not ashamed.

Which brings me to another point, my last post I discussed how a sound can bring you to a different place and time, and every time I hear this song I can’t help but play as a movie in my mind all the fun times my fiance and I are having lately….one of the best most unforgettable times was this past weekend, it was our one year since dating anniversary. To no avail the day did not go down without a fight. For real though.

Good Morning Breakfast!

Good Morning Breakfast!

Mr. Fiance and myself decided to take a day trip out of town, and do something obscenely active par to our course ;). That began the brainstorming but FIRST…Breakfast. Yesssssssssssss, pancakes and apples it was, along with coffee. He’s the designated flipper of the two of us, I make em’ he flips em’ we eat em’.

My Happy Haircut Watcher.

My Happy Haircut Watcher.

Post eating, we headed out to the salon, because together is better my fiance came with me and we had fun laughing and talking with Renee my hairstylist whom also Barista’s with me at the church coffee shop on Sundays. So blessed to have such fun and TALENTED people in my life, for real my hair looks awesome! (And the fiance’s too, we both are blessed to have Renee do our hair) Onto change and head to Lincoln….

After searching throughout the week previously we had decided our first stop in town would be: “the wilderness park” in Lincoln, NE. A quote from their page is below….

Wilderness Park is here for your enjoyment of and appreciation of its natural values.

Yay love that it was a 26 mile course for running, cycling, anniversary walk and talk taking…you get the picture; however once we got to town we did NOT love the massive amounts of mosquitos and bugs that greeted us, it was a hot and muggy day and the bugs were out to play.

Happy Trails, Wilderness hike.

Happy Trails, Wilderness hike.

After a quick stop at the store to get bug spray we were back and ready to hike the day away….however that really only lasted about two hours due to the fact we must have found just a small snippet of the actual trail because it weaved and bobbed and shortly came to a halt opening back up to a huge field were we entered the madness. We weren’t mad, and continued on instead the bike trail, singing very loud and obnoxiously any duet type songs we could think of blatantly not harmonizing and having so much fun. Just like we always do.

Sweaty, happy, tired, and hungry we headed into downtown Lincoln to a ice cream shop called Ivanna Cone.

Mmmmmm Rose and Maple Grapenut

Mmmmmm Rose and Maple Grapenut

If you know me you would know I’m not partial to ice cream in general unless of course you’re talking about McDonalds soft serve Vanilla Ice Cream Cones, specifically I’ll eat one of those any day. I don’t normally love the sugary ness that is loved by so many, but I’ll give anything sweet a chance. We headed into this cute little ice cream shop where they make the ice cream on site from scratch ingredients, best part, they allow you to sample as many flavors as you want. So naturally we did. Rose and Maple Grape Nut were our choices and combined they complimented each other quite well. Never thought in a million years I’d like Rose flavored ice cream but hey it actually works…

After walking more and browsing shops one included is one of my favorites, Ten Thousand Villages, they have an awesome mission

Ten Thousand Villages’ mission is to create opportunities for artisans in developing countries to earn income by bringing their products and stories to our markets through long-term fair trading relationships.

and that is why if I had some extra denero to spend I would have spent it there…moving on.

At this point we were hott, on all kinds of levels…what better way to get cooled off then a delicious cold coffee drink, The Mill downton Lincoln, NE delivered.

The Mill.

The Mill.

What an awesome atmosphere this coffee shop shared with us for a few moments, we quickly browsed the menu when the barista suggested we get the iced beverage they had made that day. It was iced coffee slush mixed with espresso syrup, sounds horrible I must admit, but it was quite refreshing and we took two to go.

Delicious iced drinks.

Delicious iced drinks.

Next stop WHOLE FOODS! My love upon love is cooking, baking, eating, all things healthy. So much fun to know what you’re putting in your body and especially in today’s preservative laden world it’s a hard feat for me to handle most of the time. Slowly we lavished ourselves in all things healthy, reading labels, chatting about recipes, and enjoying each other and all the aisles of food. Aisles upon aisles of beautiful food, that led us to the fresh and hot bar section of the store, and that was when it dawned on us, or rather our loud stomachs let us know, we hadn’t eaten anything much the whole day. We looked at each other and said, “any ideas for dinner?” Fully aware we both knew we had ideas, food.

VEGETABLES!

VEGETABLES!

What a handsome guy.

What a handsome guy.

My love Carrots!

My love Carrots!

The hot bar looked delicious and had food from so many different cultures, featuring dishes from Thai to Indian to American BBQ. Winner Winner Chicken dinner. We loaded our plates with all different items (sharing is caring) and got two la crioux waters for dinner. Checked out and sat in their little eatery to partake in our feast.

Mmmmmm Whole Foods.

Mmmmmm Whole Foods.

Stomachs full and satisfied we headed to the car….it was toasty inside and as my fiance proceeded to tell me how much he loved the day and was so happy I asked him politely to start the car. A turn of the key and we were off, or that was how it was supposed to happen, however a few turns of the key and we were staring at each other with no words.

Four Whole Foods Employees, one car mechanic, my good friend and her boyfriend, and two strangers with cars and jumper cables later we were sitting next to his PT Cruiser with the hood up in surrender of our failed attempts at giving the car life, we may have run short of ideas in that department but we definitely weren’t unhappy. It wasn’t what we had planned but we were not going to be sad about it. We were able to stay at a friends home for the night and would head out in the morning. It wasn’t until one am I was in bed finally, after a quick shower.

The next morning we hadn’t heard anything from the auto body shop and decided to head to a coffee shop in town to kill time, off we went. By foot. Thirty minutes. It was worth it. They had coloring books.

Coloring to pass the time in the coffee shop.

Coloring to pass the time in the coffee shop.

It just so happened that my fiance’s family was in town doing some back to school shopping for his siblings, so the fam came to our rescue!

They shopped and shopped and we dropped right into a frozen yogurt shop, Cherry on Top. Mmmmmmmmmmmm when you haven’t had a real meal all day and have been walking around in the heat frozen yogurt sure does hit the spot.

Cherry On Top. Delightful froyo after a hott weekend.

Cherry On Top. Delightful froyo after a hott weekend.

We hung out in the frozen yogurt place awhile till dinner time, where we all gathered again at Famous Daves for dinner.

Finally sitting at Famous Daves.

Finally sitting at Famous Daves, a day and no makeup later.

I was delighted with my BBQ grilled Chicken Salad, but sad it wasn’t 298374 times bigger because I was starving. It did the trick though and I was full.

There was still time yet to kill…..unfortunately. (It had been a day already c’mon guys!)

We headed to another mall when my fiance got a call that they were done replacing the part they had called us first about, BUT there was another part that needed replacing and it just wouldn’t be there at the shop till probably the next day. OH brother.

Change scenes to us driving to the dealership. Working it out with the owner that we would have the pieces all fixed and put back together by nine pm that evening. Good knight, finally some plans.

I traveled home seperately from the fiance, God bless his family being in town and supplying my ride home, all I wanted was a shower and sleep, and to hear that the car is finally fixed and everyone is back.

At about elevenish, the word was good, we were back and with memories that will definitely last us a lifetime. And this is how we both felt after finally getting home…

WOOOHOOOO

WOOOHOOOO

This weekend just put into perspective the past year, as well as life in general, I don’t know how many times things in life have not panned out quite as I would have expected them too. Um okay so that might be every day for me. But that is perfectly fine, because sometimes you need trials to come your way to figure out exactly what you’ll do when you face them, because if you never quite get tested, then you never quite know. I’m a firm believer in the knowledge that I cannot control what happens, but I can control how I react.

Anniversary year one down, I may not be prepared for everything that is to come, but I’m ready to embrace the possibilities of my reaction to every single one. =)

Is there anything in my teeth?

Is there anything in my teeth?

It sure is a good thing we don’t take ourselves too seriously…

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to If you only Live once I want to Live with you…

  1. Pingback: WIAW: Whole Foods Version… | Busy Barista

Leave a comment